Live Cricket Score

Wayne Parnell to lead Northern Superchargers in Hundred

Wayne Parnell, the South African allrounder, has been appointed men’s captain of Northern Superchargers ahead of the third season of the Hundred, succeeding Faf du Plessis.

Parnell played twice for Superchargers as a replacement last year and was retained for the 2023 season. He is one of their three men’s overseas players, along with Matthew Short – who is a replacement for the injured Michael Bracewell – and David Wiese. They finished sixth last season, with four wins and four defeats.

Du Plessis, who captained Superchargers last year, was released over the winter due to his Caribbean Premier League commitments with St Lucia Kings. The CPL starts on August 17, while the Hundred runs from August 1-17.

Parnell captained Pretoria Capitals to the final of the inaugural SA20 last winter, and is leading Seattle Orcas in Major League Cricket. He recently played alongside several Superchargers players for Durham in the Vitality Blast.

James Foster, the men’s coach, said: “We are delighted to have Wayne back in the squad. He knows the team and, having played in this year’s T20 Blast for Durham, he knows the conditions well. He brings with him a wealth of experience from his international and domestic career and that will be invaluable to the team.”

Hollie Armitage will continue as Superchargers’ women’s captain. “Hollie did a great job last season and she has a lot of experience,” Dani Hazell, their coach, said. “She led the Northern Diamonds to their first title, winning the Rachael Heyhoe Flint Trophy, last year so she knows how to win.”

Meanwhile, Trent Rockets have confirmed that Nat Sciver-Brunt and Lewis Gregory will continue to lead their women’s and men’s sides respectively. Rockets were men’s champions last season, and lost the eliminator in the women’s competition.

Birmingham Phoenix: Ellyse Perry, Moeen Ali
London Spirit: Heather Knight, Dan Lawrence
Manchester Originals: Sophie Ecclestone, Jos Buttler
Northern Superchargers: Hollie Armitage, Wayne Parnell
Oval Invincibles: Dane van Niekerk, Sam Billings
Southern Brave: Anya Shrubsole, James Vince
Trent Rockets: Nat Sciver-Brunt, Lewis Gregory
Welsh Fire: Tammy Beaumont, Tom Abell

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *